After six days of action and an 11 hour marathon final day, the Metro Card Club 2M Guaranteed Main Event came to a close with Euryd Rivera overcoming a stacked final table to pocket the largest cut of P362,765 and take home the Metro 2M championship trophy.

Euryd Rivera, Metro 2M champion

There was no question the final day was going to be a very tough race. The biggest names in the Filipino poker scene were all present in the 18-man lineup. 

John Tech was the player to catch up to, he brought in the largest stack. Marc Rivera second highest, Lester Edoc running third, while Mike Takayama and Euryd Rivera were mixed in with the rest of the pack.

When the field downsized to the final ten players, all of these top guns were seated around the orbit with Tech still at high command.

Final Table

Final table of the Metro 2M GTD

The race to the title amplified after the departure of half the table leaving only the five pros to slug it out. Kudos to Harold Ian Acosta who put up a strong fight throughout, even claiming the chip lead for a few rounds at the final table. He finished in a respectable 6th place.

Just before the final five discussed a deal, Euryd caused damage to Edoc’s stack. Euryd’s both paired up to overcome Edoc’s .

This sent Euryd’s stack charging up to second rank that when a deal was reached (loosely by chip count), he secured himself the second largest payout next to Tech. An additional P92,765 was set aside for the eventual winner.

Final 5 players

Bowing out 5th was Edoc who went on a shoving spree only to lose three all ins to his executioner Takayama.

Lester Edoc, 5th place

At four-handed, chip leader Tech was put to a dead halt. He struggled to win pots and was finally put out of commission in 4th place by Marc Rivera.

John Tech, 4th place

Three-handed saw plenty of heated action between Marc and Mike. This caused the chip lead to switch from one to the other. The war ended with Euryd stepping in and railing Takayama with over .

Mike Takayama, 3rd place

This left the two Rivera brothers, Euryd and Marc, to fight it out for the title.

Heads up! Marc Rivera vs Euryd Rivera

The final stretch kicked off with Euryd ahead in the count. In less than five hands, it was mission accomplished. Euryd’s defeated Marc’s on a final board of .

Congratulations to Euryd Rivera! He overcame a field of 707 runners to become the newest Metro champion!

You can read up on the final day action via our Live Updates post. 

Euryd Rivera, Metro 2M champion

Final Day payouts
Prizepool: P2,474,500 – Buyin: P4000 – Entries: 707 – ITM: 71 places
1st Euryd Rivera – P362,765 (deal)
2nd Marc Rivera – P240,000 (deal)
3rd Mike Takayama – P190,000 (deal)
4th John Tech – P290,000 (deal)

5th Lester Edoc – P190,000 (deal)
6th Harold Ian Acosta – P64,750
7th John Jay Magadan – P50,750
8th Carlos Monton – P43,750

9th Jasper Salonga David – P36,750
10th Carlo Rey Calingasan – P29,750
11th Mark Jerick Almusajin – P22,750
12th Christopher Mateo – P22,750
13th James Moriles – P19,250
14th Ronald Dimaano – P19,250
15th Jesus Rivera – P19,250
16th Benjamin Mangaliman – P15,750
17th Joemark Vasay – P15,750
18th Harvey Orbeta – P15,750