Day 2 of the RVS CUP Philippine Poker Championship is over and in its destruction was a plethora of eliminations leaving only 27 players out of the 189 runners that opened the day. Despite the massive shaving, it was payday for many with the 5 Million Guaranteed prize pool slowly distributed beginning at 125th place. After regulation play closed, 8 players crossed the seven-digit range with two of them into the 2M marker.

Ending Day 2 with the largest stack was Seong Uk Hong with a very hefty 2,047,000 in chips. Not much is known of Hong other than he weaved his way past the might of the local contingent to deny a Filipino the chip lead entering the final day.

Closing the night just as strong was Jan Morris Bolotaolo (pictured below), a very familiar face in the local scene. Bolotaolo  bagged up 2,028,500, which was just a handful of chips away him from Hong.

Among the others that made it through the day’s rough ride, local pro Mike Takayama was the only starting  day chip leader to make the cut. Takayama accumulated 782,000 in chips, putting him in 12th rank.  Another decorated pro in the list was Czardy Rivera however with his 427,000 stack, he is in the lower end of the chip rung.

With a big crowd of players seeing the money, the first to collect was Al Domingo Alvarez in 125th place. Others that joined him were Jessie Leonarez (104th), Christopher Runas (102nd), Mark Amparo (97th), Emmanuel Segismundo (94th), William Ysmael (83rd), Seung Soo Jeon (82nd), Eryd Rivera (78th), and Joven Huerto (64th).

The remaining three starting day chip leaders also visited the cage for their dough, Rebel Magdagasang {72nd), Frederick Leano (54th), and Jerick Medina (39th). Among the past champions only Richard Marquez (67th) and Lester Edoc (61st) got paid while the reigning champion Anacleto Quijano missed the mark completely. To close out Day 2, Hernan Villa took the unfortunate fall in 28th place and bubbled to the final day.

Final Day chip counts: 27 players
Seong Uk Hong 2,047,000
Jon Morris Bolotaolo 2,028,500
Jason Kyle Magbanua 1,813,500
Ji Won Seo 1,719,500
Christopher Chua 1,340,000
Austeen Dick Montaño 1,243,500
Shin Kyun Choi 1,078,000
Manuel Mascunana III 1,028,000
Delfino Ty 917,000
Alexis Lim 879,500
Robert Kuang 817,500
Mike Takayama 782,000
Mark Andaya 666,500
Reynaldo Concepcion 605,500
Leonard Aban 587,000
Joseph Christopher Cionelo 558,000
John Ong 548,000
Bienvenido Guevarra 537,000
Enrique De Leon 535,000
Perry Galarosa 499,000
Jericho Venoza 478,000
Guian-Carlo Cordero 466,500
Carter Yap 465,000
Christopher Pasion 459,000
Czardy Rivera 427,000
Benjamin Mangaliman 396,000
Jomar Morales 337,500

All of Day 2’s survivors will return to the Metro at 3pm on Monday, November 20, for the final race to reach the title.